Only God can pull this off

“There’s a certain time between a fella
and a girl when it either comes off or not.
If it doesn’t then,
then it never does.” Billie Dawn in “Born Yesterday” (1950)

In “Born Yesterday” Washington Journalist Paul Verrall (William Holden) has been hired by rough-mannered tycoon Harry Brock (Broderick Crawford) to train his girlfriend Billie in manners. The plot is reminiscent of “My Fair Lady.”Billie is pretty brash herself, and Brock is trying to swing some corrupt deals in D.C. political circles. He can’t afford to have the aggressive Billie mess things up.

What no one counted on is that Paul and Billie would fall for each other. Even though there is great attraction between them from the start, Paul doesn’t “bite” at Billie’s advances. “Why complicate things?” he says at one point in their dalliance.

When Billie tells Paul that the moment has passed for them to have any kind of relationship, Paul replies,”Maybe we haven’t got to our time yet.”

“I think we did and you dropped the ball,” she says.

I can relate to how Paul felt when he heard Billie’s remark. I have a huge passion for a young woman I know, but the situation is complicated.

First of all, I am married. The marriage has been dead for many years and I have not lived with my wife for over two of them. We have spoken once in that time.

Furthermore, the girl is half my age. Her mother is probably younger than me for crying out loud.

However, I sense a mutual attraction between us. I had not seen her for months until the last few days. Then I ran into her in public. She gave me a lingering hug.

I didn’t know what to do. I was like a dazzled school boy. I said nothing. I just looked at her. Indeed, the feeling at that time reminds me of when I first saw her. If there is such a thing as love at first sight, that is what I experienced at the time.

After the hug and my teenage reaction the young lady said she had to go, turned and left. I felt a mixture of ecstasy and complete frustration.

I am one messed up individual. In fact, I’m pathetic.

Why? As a believer in Jesus Christ I am influenced in my decision making by my evangelical history. In addition, I do take the Bible to be God’s inerrant Word.

As a result, from what I can surmise in my limited nut of a brain, a relationship with this girl is out of the question biblically, even practically.

I should divorce my wife, not so much because of my desire for this woman, but because our marriage is hopeless.  People have told me that. However, the Scriptures say that God hates divorce. “Why would I do anything God hates?”, I ask myself.

But a divorce WOULD free me to pursue this young lady. In the meantime, I do not want to involve her in the mess of my current marriage and life. It just wouldn’t be right. If I do in fact love her, this would not be an action that reflects that.

So I am caught between a rock and a hard place of late. I just don’t know what to do.

Part of me says that I deserve a good rest of my life. The other part of me says that stepping outside the parameters set forth in the Bible will turn my life into one holy mess, as well as screw up the lives of many others.

So I do nothing. Perhaps my feelings for this girl will pass. Maybe she will fall for a young man her age and get married like all of her friends are doing.

In all honesty, the latter would crush me. Yes, I am definitely pathetic.

I can only hope that somehow my story ends up as nice as the lovers in “Born Yesterday.” Eventually things worked out for Paul and Billie and they got married.

In my case, only God can pull that off.

Leave a Reply

